The 2022-23 NB Writing Competition is now open!


New Brunswick Writers' Federation: 2022-23 New Brunswick Writers' Competition


The New Brunswick Writing Competition began in 1985, the same year as the WFNB’s date of incorporation. We’ve held it annually ever since, awarding hundreds of prizes over the decades. Many past winners have since achieved national and international publishing fame. It opens every year on December 1. See the guidelines below, and click the titles on the right for a description of each category.

Member pricing available. Please log in with your account prior to purchasing a competition submission.

Submission Categories:

  1. Fiction Manuscript – David Adams Richards Prize
  2. Short Fiction – Douglas Kyle Memorial Prize
  3. Poetry Manuscript – Alfred G. Baily Prize
  4. Single Poem – Dawn Watson Memorial Prize
  5. Books for Young People – Quantiphi
  6. Teen Writers – Sheree Fitch Prize
  7. Narrative Nonfiction
  8. Screenplay – Jane LeBlanc Screenwriting Award