Writers’ Federation of NB announces winners of its 2018 Writing Competition. Event part of WFNB’s WordSpring Festival in Quispamsis onMay 11–13
Saint John, NB (April 20, 2018) – The Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick will present $2,900 in cash prizes to the winners of its 2018 Writing Competition at a Literary Soirée on Saturday, May 12 in Quispamsis.
The evening ceremony is part of WFNB’s 2018 WordSpring Festival being held on May 11–13 at the Quality Inn & Suites, Amsterdam. The festival also offers writing workshops, readings by local and national authors, and book launches by WFNB members. Friday evening events are free and open to the public.
The Soirée readings range from fiction and nonfiction to poems and children’s stories. This year, the event highlights young New Brunswick writers. Six award-winning teenage students will read from their work, including the winner of WFNB’s 2017 WordsFall writing contest for Sussex High School.  Bayside Middle School (Saint John) will receive more than $500 in books and gift certificates from provincial booksellers and publishers.
The Soirée also features an address by Newfoundland’s legendary Marjorie Doyle, a prolific author and radio personality whose awards include Silver in the National Magazine Awards, CBC Radio Awards for Performing Excellence, and a Golden Sheaf nomination for the film Regarding our Father. Marjorie is a tireless advocate for writer’s rights and currently serves as Chair of The Writer’s Union of Canada.
Professional development workshops will be given by award-winning writer and scholar Roger Moore, 2017 NB Book Awards recipient Kerry-Lee Powell, author and former NB Deputy Minister of Education Wendy McLeod MacKnight, renowned writing coach and author Deborah Carr, and Shediac writer Colin Thornton.
For more information and a complete schedule of events, visit WFNB’s website at www.wfnb.ca.
The following are the 2018 competition winners:
Sheree Fitch Prize for Young Writers (age 13–18)
Judge: Norene Smiley, Nova Scotia
First Place                 Susanna Cupido (Sackville, NB), The Shop  
Second Place              Anajose Reyes (New Maryland, NB), Strawberry–Mango
Third Place                Susanna Cupido (Sackville, NB), Sonnet for the Hedgehog
Honourable Mention            Lauren Wilkins (Moncton, NB), ThornBlush
                                    Chloe Cull (Fredericton, NB), Soft as Cotton Balls
Fog Lit Books for Young People Prize
Judge: Tanya Lloyd Kyi, British Columbia
First Place                 Jennifer Shelby (Hopewell Hill, NB), Dragon Crossing
Second Place              Anna Eleonora Haglund Hellstrom (Saint John, NB), 
A Tale of Wind and Sky    
Third Place                Freya Clark (St. Andrews, NB), Acceptance
David Adams Richards Prize (fiction manuscript)
Judge: Michelle Butler Hallett, Newfoundland & Labrador
First Place                 Lee Thompson (Moncton, NB),The Purpose of Evolution is Not Immortality
Second Place              James McClure (Saint John, NB), Playing like a Girl
Third Place                Roger Moore (Island View, NB), Devil’s Kitchen
Alfred G. Bailey Prize (poetry manuscript)
Judge: Kimmy Beach, Alberta
First Place                 Neil Sampson (Durham Bridge, NB), Apples on the Nashwaak
Second Place              Jennifer Houle (Hanwell, NB), Virga                       
Third Place                Matthew Gwathmey (Fredericton, NB), Along that Range, the Appalachians
Douglas Kyle Memorial Prize (short fiction)
Judge: Sandra Birdsell, Ontario
First Place                 Trent Pomeroy (Rothesay, NB), The Rat
Second Place              Chris Graham-Rombough (Sackville, NB), The Yard Sale
Third Place                Edward Lemond (Dieppe, NB), David James
Dawn Watson Memorial Prize (single poem)
Judge: Dave Margoshes, Saskatchewan
First Place                 Melanie Craig-Hansford (Erbs Cove, NB), Mornings in Erbs Cove 
Second Place              Neil Sampson (Durham Bridge, NB), William Wordsworth Walks 
His Dog
Third Place                Bryn Harris (Grand Manan, NB), Imperfect Pitch
Narrative Nonfiction Prize
Judge: Chris Benjamin, Nova Scotia
First Place                 Beth LaRocque (Saint John, NB), A Tale of 2 (X4) Grandmothers 
Second Place              Molly Titus (Rothesay, NB), Missing Bill
Third Place                Margaret Eaton (Moncton, NB), Ruminations on Rumi