The 3rd annual New Brunswick Book Awards will be presented at a celebration of writing and book illustration excellence on Friday, June 8 at the Lily Lake Pavilion, Saint John, NB. This free, public event will begin  with a reception at 6 p.m., followed by the awards presentation ceremony at 7 p.m. Guest speaker will be Sussex author Beth Powning, winner of the inaugural fiction award for her novel A Measure of Light.
Awards will be presented in four categories (see 2017 shortlisted titles below):
  • Alice Kitts Memorial Award for Excellence in Children’s Writing
  • Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick Award for Non-Fiction
  • The Mrs. Dunster’s Award for Fiction
  • The Fiddlehead Poetry Book Prize
The book awards program represents a partnership betweenCanada’s oldest literary magazine, The Fiddlehead, which has nurtured New Brunswick’s literary culture for 70 years, and the Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick, which for 30 years haspassionately supported the development of home-grown writers at all stages of development.
New Brunswick Book Awards Shortlisted Titles (Published in 2017)
The Mrs. Dunster’s Award for Fiction
Judge: Angie Abdou, author of five books of fiction, most recently In Case I Go
Peter J. Clair, Tobique, Taapoategl & Pallet: A Mi’Kmaq Journey of Loss and Survival
Publisher: Chapel Street Editions
Wayne Curtis, Fredericton, Homecoming: The Road  Less Travelled
Publisher: Pottersfield Press
M.T. Dohaney, Fredericton, Caplin Scull: Chronicles from a Newfoundland Outpost
Publisher: Pottersfield Press
Alice Kitts Memorial Award for Excellence in Children’s Writing
Judge: Sheree Fitch, one of Canada’s most beloved and celebrated children’s authors
Odette Barr, Petit-Cap, Colleen Landry, Moncton, and Beth Weatherbee, Baie Verte, Take off to Tantramar
Publisher: Chocolate River Publishing
Paul McAllister, Fredericton, New Song for Herman
Publisher: Herman’s Monster House Publishing
Alice Whitney, Fredericton, Henrietta’s Nightlight
Publisher: Chocolate River Publishing
The Fiddlehead Poetry Book Prize
Judge: Susan Gillis, author of three collections of poetry, including Swimming Among the Ruins
Wayne Clifford, Grand Manan, Flying the Truck
Publisher: New Brunswick Museum
Allan Cooper, Riverview, Everything We’ve Loved Comes Back to Find Us
Publisher: Gaspereau Press
Kathy Mac, Fredericton, Human Misunderstanding
Publisher: Roseway

Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick Book Award for Non-Fiction
Judge: Award-winning author, journalist and teacher Andrew Westoll
Rachel Bryant, Saint John, The Homing Place
Publisher: Wilfrid Laurier University Press
Tony Robinson-Smith, Fredericton, The Dragon Run: Two Canadians, Ten Bhutanese, One Stray Dog
Publisher: University of Alberta Press
Jan Wong, Fredericton, Apron Strings: Navigating Food and Family in France, Italy and China
Publisher: Goose Lane Editions